Confused whether the latest FB feature post is real or not? Mari clarifies the situation on this one…
If you see a post going around talking about how your fans will no longer see your content in their news feed, please note: it is *not accurate.* Not even close. I’m not sure where folks get this information from! Facebook did take away the “Send Fans an Update” feature as they want us to focus on using the wall. Updates were like emailing your fans. But, fans WILL still see your content in their news feed and Ticker… and, in fact, all the friends of your fans will also see your content in their Ticker.
Here’s the text of the hoax going around just so you can be aware. Please let your friends and fans know this is not correct:
“New Facebook Procedures – all page owners are asked to tell fans: If you are not an active fan of mine (liking or commenting on photos) as of October 31, 2011 you will NO longer see updates from me in your news feed. If you like (insert page name here) and want to be the first to know about news, items, sales, etc, then please like this post and future ones. I would hate to see you miss out, and I would like to keep every single one of you.”
Shared via Mari Smith